How should a teenager start programming?

Relevant story of 95.0% Indian teenagers.

ยท

3 min read

How should a teenager start programming?

To start my first blog with such a serious topic is very tough for me to explain everything in the correct technique as you may read in most other blogs... so please pay some extra patience...

Before I answer my title of the post directly, I should come to the topic why 95% teenager comes to programming nowadays in India.

The most common reason to this choice of career are peer pressure!

Yes...I know pressure is a negative term! But wait...at the age of 14-16 who wants to concentrate of algorithms or matrix operation (2-d arrays) leaving aside their mobile games and outings with friends. ๐Ÿ˜’

But anyways, after constant pressure from different source suppose you decided to learn more about programming.

Now where should you start?

There are so many options... Let me guide you through this, I am a self-taught programmer, so I exactly know the hurdle. First you have to decide which programming language you like the most and has the most demand in market currently.

At such inexperienced age how would you know which language you like and you can proceed with it? The best way to do this is to do and determine that which one do you like. For that just see YouTube videos related to the use of those languages.

Initially I wanted to become an hacker, and hack people and show-off my skills to impress someone....but later in the course of learning and experimenting with different techs, I found that there's a greater world rather than showing off.

What's after selecting a programming language?

Suppose, you found out from YouTube that, C++ is an awesome programming language it's super-fast and can be used in game dev. and embedded designs and all that... Now, this is true for every programming language, you should start with it's advantage. But before that, I am assuming that you don't know any basics about programming (though most schools teach programming from class 7 onward nowadays), so follow the stereotype start with Hello world!. Then, loops... next try to do some modular programming practice array operations, string operations, I in my initial days of programming I found GeeksforGeeks very helpful for learning the resources. Then you must create an account on Hacker Rank and start practicing exercises. Achieving stars ๐Ÿ’ซ๐Ÿ’ซ๐Ÿ’ซ๐Ÿ’ซ๐Ÿ’ซ and to up skill yourself gives another level of fun, it's hard to explain!

Whats the struggle in it? ๐Ÿคทโ€โ€โ™‚๏ธ

yeah, if you have read so far, you may think like that. But.... After 2 weeks of coding and posting about it on social media you may feel like there's no end, but it may start to bore you out. But please don't stop practicing... Why do you know? I once was very good in Java programming, I could do parallel programming and Thread handling really well and implementing string problems from LeetCode...But I fell in love with Python scripting when I was like 15-16 yo. And Python spoiled me...

But that's story for my another blog! Hopefully, you have read this whole and you can relate this story with yourself and can get a fade overview about how should you start, but there's more than stay motivated and learning a programming language...I will post it in my other blog!